Hatherley Infant School & Nursery

Learn and grow {{tree}} together

Early Years


We want all children to make a positive start to their learning in an enjoyable environment. There are four guiding principles which should shape learning in EYFS.  These are:

• every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured;

• children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;

• children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a   strong partnership between practitioners and parents and/or carers; and

children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

During their first year at school children in the Foundation Stage classes follow the ‘Early Years Foundation Stage Framework’. The Foundation Stage is currently organised into the following areas of learning:

Prime areas

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  2. Physical Development
  3. Communication and Language

Specific areas

  1. Literacy
  2. Mathematics
  3. Understanding the World
  4. Expressive Arts and Design

Within these areas of learning, the children learn and develop skills through continuous provision activities which are objective led.  This enables the teacher and teaching assistant to assess each child's abilities and set next steps. 

The emphasis of these activities is to enhance children's knowledge through skill based learning, practical child initiated activities and learning through fun.

The characteristics of effective learning permeate all of these areas where children learn through play and exploration, active learning and by creating and thinking critically both inside and in the outdoor learning areas.